Quick Links

Useful Links


Hall School

a specialist college

for communication and interaction

EYFS/Nursery Key Stage 1

The Early Years Foundation Stage is taught, with differentiated activities for pupils with special needs.

A range of strategies and teaching methods are used to support pupils, including 'Signalong',PECS, visual timetables, and multi-sensory equipment.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. 

1. Communication and language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range
of situations.

2. Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

3. Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others;to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.

4. Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin toread and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books,poems, and other written materials) to
ignite their interest.

5. Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes,
spaces, and measures.

6. Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world andtheir community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places,technology and the environment.

7. Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, roleplay, and design and technology.

School Website Design by Greenhouse School Websites